communities

Africa Chapter

Established May 2018

Mission Statement

Our mission is to develop, sustain and advance Pharmacoepidemiology research in the African region, through intra- and intercontinental scientific collaborative work.

Objectives

  • To assess the Pharmacoepidemiology gaps in the African region
  • To provide Pharmacoepidemiology educational opportunities for researchers, policy makers, and healthcare practitioners and organizations in Africa
  • To facilitate intra- and intercontinental Pharmacoepidemiology collaborations and communications among African nations, and researchers from non-African nations with interest in Africa
  • To promote the field of Pharmacoepidemiology as an applied science in Africa.
  • To serve as a scientific forum for exchange of ideas, best practices, and research partnership for Pharmacoepidemiology in Africa.
  • To promote best practices of the Pharmacoepidemiology field

Meeting Schedule

At least once every quarter via teleconference, and one face-to-face meeting during the annual ICPE meeting.

Committee Members

Chair: Kwame Appenteng kwame.appenteng@astellas.com
Co-Chair: Irene Berita Murimi irene.murimi@mcphs.edu

Regional Leads

 

 

Central Africa

 

 

   Didier Nzolo

University of Kinshasa,

Democratic Republic of the Congo

didiernzolo@yahoo.fr

   Akindeh Nji

University of Yaounde I,

Cameroon

akindeh@yahoo.com

Eastern Africa

 

 

   Dan Kajungu

Makerere University,

Uganda

dan.kajungu@gmail.com

   Sylvia A. Opanga

University of Nairobi,

Kenya

sylvia.adisa@gmail.com

sopanga@uonbi.ac.ke.

Western Africa

 

 

   Daniel Ankrah

Korle-bu Teaching Hospital,

Ghana

danielankrah45@hotmail.com

   Chioma Ejekam

Lagos University Teaching Hospital,

Nigeria

bfchioma@yahoo.com

Southern Africa

 

 

   Ilse Truter

Nelson Mandela University,

South Africa

Ilse.Truter@mandela.ac.za

   Karen Cohen

Cape Town University,

South Africa

karen.cohen@uct.ac.za

   Johanita Burger

North West University, South Africa

johanita.burger@nwu.ac.za